“I come to the garden alone while the dew is still on the roses, and the voice I hear falling on my ear the son of God discloses…

and He walks with me and He talks with me and He tells me I am His own, 

and the joy we share as we tarry there, none other has ever known!”

The words and arrangement of the hymn I Come to the Garden Alone are so lovely and calming. I often find myself humming or singing this song when I’m in the midst of a storm or feeling overwhelmed. The message that rings the loudest when I ponder over the words of the song is having true intimacy with Christ. While many people think only of sexual relations when they hear the term intimacy, the word’s true meaning is that of having a very close association, unification, familiarity, or bond. When I think of David’s relationship with King Saul’s son Jonathan, intimacy immediately comes to mind. Intimacy transcends basic communication; it allows two or more people have a stronger, more personal union. When true intimacy exists in a relationship, that relationship will not be severed easily because all parties will be motivated by love and care for each other. One can’t expect to understand the unique relationship of God (being the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit, yet one God) without understanding the idea of intimacy. A man cannot leave his father and mother and become one with his wife without truly grasping the concept of intimacy; this is probably one of the main reasons the divorce rate is so high at present. Peruse the words of Jesus as He prays to His Father and you find that Jesus desired intimacy with those who believed in Him, “I pray for these followers, but I am also praying for all those who will believe in me because of their teaching. Father, I pray that they can be one. As you are in me and I am in you, I pray that they can also be one in us. Then the world will believe that you sent me.I have given these people the glory that you gave me so that they can be one, just as you and I are one. I will be in them and you will be in me so that they will be completely one. Then the world will know that you sent me and that you loved them just as much as you loved me.” (John 17: 20-23, NCV) Don’t become complacent in your relationships with others and especially, your relationship with God; seek to know him more and more, and better and better each day. Commit yourself to true intimacy with God by giving Him your all; obey His will, exam His word, strengthen your prayer life, and share His goodness with all that you come in contact with. God desires an intimate relationship with you!

MD 5/3/12

