If you never go back to school and obtain that degree you so desire, would you consider you life a waste? If the man or woman of your dreams never sweeps you off your feet, will your life always feel incomplete? If the door to your career is never unlocked, will all your years spent working be in vain? If your short or long-term goals or plans always seem to be thwarted by problems, complications, or others, will you never experience satisfaction? Is your happiness only temporarily aroused by monetary, material blessings, or fleeting pleasures? If so, know this…God is the only permanent fix for your impermanent problems! While medication and therapy may assist in easing discomfort and provide assistance in minimizing the effects of anxiety, depression, loneliness, etc. and a few extra bucks might help pay the bills, faith in the son of God and obedience to His word are necessary for true fulfillment in life (and the next); they will keep you contented even if your plans are never successfully executed. Consider the words of Paul to the brothers and sisters in the body of Christ in Philippi, “I am not telling you this because I need anything. I have learned to be satisfied with the things I have and with everything that happens.I know how to live when I am poor, and I know how to live when I have plenty. I have learned the secret of being happy at any time in everything that happens, when I have enough to eat and when I go hungry, when I have more than I need and when I do not have enough.I can do all things through Christ, because he gives me strength. (Phil 4:11-13, NCV) When you learn to truly put God first in your life and align your will with His, He will grant the desires of your heart, because they will all aim to give Him the glory.

MD 5/9/12

